Guest Posts

Oluwatoyin Ajilore on Purpose

OA on Purpose

Hello!

I want to ask you a question. If I paint a picture of someone who, in retrospect, discovered that he/she wasted his life, what happens in your mind?  Would that give you a sense of concern?  Would it “disturb” your mind? Or would you just continue what you were doing unfazed?

The matter of purpose has been one that has been important to me from my early university days, after I really came to know and follow after Jesus. The mention of the word “purpose” was capable of throwing me into a state of anxiety in times past. You wouldn’t blame me. The kind of training I was exposed to in my early Christian life is such that takes the matter of purpose very seriously, and I would forever be grateful for that.

There has been the misunderstanding of purpose to be a “thing” someone is to become, which has robbed us of the depths of God’s glory. In my short walk with God, I have found that everything and anything a man becomes: say a renowned preacher, an astute businessman who conducts business with biblical principles, a footballer who shows forth God’s glory (I believe I am writing to Christians, right?) etc. isn’t the man’s purpose. They are only the means of achieving the purpose. Let us see what Apostle Paul says:

“To me, who am less than the least of all the saints, this race was given, that I SHOULD PREACH among the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ, and to make all see what is the fellowship of the mystery, which from the beginning of the ages has been hidden in God who created all things through Jesus Christ; TO THE INTENT THAT now the manifold wisdom of God might be made known by the church to the principalities and powers in the heavenly places,” (Ephesians 3:8-10, NKJV)

Did you see that? Paul was to preach TO THE INTENT THAT… That means his preaching ministry wasn’t the intent in itself. So also whatever aspect of life you are going to get involved in isn’t your purpose. Your purpose is simply to show God’s glory, the manifold wisdom of God (you can also check Isaiah 43:7). And that could be achieved through any path God has chosen for you.

And how do we know our own paths? We simply walk with God (and yes, I mean your simple day to day devotion to Christ; in prayer, bible studies, godly activities etc.), because:

“…The path of the just is like the shining sun, that shines ever brighter unto the perfect day” (Proverbs 4:18)

It simply gets clearer as we go; there is no magic to this.

Having said all of that, I must strongly emphasize that a man that would walk in fulfillment of purpose must be a man who is consistently not satisfied with an empty, complacent life. This may look like a “small matter”, but it isn’t. The principle of the Kingdom remains:

“You will seek me and find me WHEN you seek me with ALL OF YOUR HEART” (Jeremiah 29:13, NIV)

“Yes, when you get serious about finding me and want it more than anything else, I’ll make sure you won’t be disappointed’ God’s Decree” (Jeremiah 29: 13-14, The Message)

A man who will find the fulfillment of his purpose in God must be a man who truly wants that, wholeheartedly. So, like I like to tell myself, my first prayer point is not about understanding and fulfilling purpose, it is rather about getting serious about understanding and fulfilling purpose wholeheartedly. Because you would agree with me that we are a generation who is sandwiched between plethoric distractions. And the Scripture makes it clear that:

“For everyone who asks receives; THE ONE WHO SEEKS FINDS, and to the one who knocks, the door will be open” (Matthew 7:8, NIV)

So if we are not finding, it has to be because we are not seeking with the whole of our hearts.

We are also a generation upon which prophecies are hanging over (you could start with Joel 2 if you are unfamiliar with what I am saying). And our confidence is in the fact that God is able to make us all He desires of us, because it is Him who works in us both to will and to do of His good pleasure.

I will end with the lyrics of this common song, which I love so much:

Almighty God (2ce)

Our generation shall praise your name (4ce)

Yes, we would rise and praise His name

Bless you!

 

……………………………………………………………

Oluwatoyin is a Christian, who loves to write. She believes the WordIMG-20170328-WA0008 of God is central to every form of growth the human being needs.

She is currently a Graduate Student of Pan African University, where she is looking forward to obtaining a Master’s degree in Mineral Exploration.

She also loves to combine various comestibles in producing long-lasting memories of gustatory delights.

Oluwatoyin lives in Ibadan, Nigeria, with her family. You can connect with her via her Mobile: 07064259524; Email: olutoyinajilore@gmail.com; Facebook: Oluwatoyin Ajilore and Twitter: @oluwa_to_yin

5 thoughts on “Oluwatoyin Ajilore on Purpose”

Leave a comment