JustPurpose

Life, Memories and Purpose

life

Every day, I receive notifications from Facebook about events that happened on my timeline in the past years. Yesterday, as I scrolled down, I saw people I became friends with, thoughts I shared and pictures I uploaded. In a way, it felt as though I could relive those moments. But those times are gone. I have made an exchange with history. I have traded the past for the present and I got memories as bonus.

As I have grown, I have come to appreciate what Karl Lagerfeld said about photographs. They capture moments that when gone are impossible to reproduce. I don’t have so much of photographs, but I am learning that we cannot have good memories of the past if we are not living well today. Therefore, it is important that we pay attention to how we are living today so that we can intentionally create memories that would inspire us to maximise tomorrow.

In essence a discussion on how to create positive memories is actually a discussion about making the best of today.

  1. It is okay to smile and have fun.

Someone once asked me if purpose is all work and no play. He wondered if it is possible to go to the cinemas, visit friends and have a lot of fun and still live purposefully. My response was that purpose isn’t something we do but someone we are. It is not about being spiri koko. It is about living the life of God and fulfilling your role in His global plan. This is why we must develop a good sense of humour and still take life seriously. We must learn to smile, have fun and live well. Do something out of the box. Go out with a friend. Live fully in the moment you are in.

  1. It is okay to think of yourself less and more of others.

Of all the things that Facebook reminds me of every day, I have found that I am usually more interested in the people I became friends with and the life I have shared with people on the social media space. I agree with Ama Ata Aidoo that humans, not places make memories. Positive memories do not consist primarily in the things we do, but in the people we impact. This is why when I think of my life twenty years from now I imagine that I will be able to look back and see how more people now live meaningfully because they met me at some points in their life journeys. Who will you share today with so that you can look back tomorrow and be inspired by your own impacts?

It is true that to live well in the present, you must let the past be past. However, it is equally true that the long line of life behind us can be a springboard for outstanding accomplishments in the future. Just like Facebook, life has a mechanism that makes us depend on our memories to be fully human. Tomorrow, when you will look back at today, what do you expect to see?

Blessed? Let me hear your thoughts. Please leave a comment.

You matter to me always.

4 thoughts on “Life, Memories and Purpose”

  1. God bless you for that phrase. Purpose “Is more of who we are than what we do” it is WHO we are that determines WHAT we do and HOW we do it.
    People are used to doing things at their free Will, but purpose Will help us cultivate rare qualities that makes us stand out from others.
    The definition of “fun” varies amongst individuals. What I regard is fun, some people see as work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

