JustPurpose

​Little Decisions

We have repeatedly made the point that the quality of our lives is usually a reflection of our decisions and sometimes the decisions of others and our reactions to them. Today I want to invite you to consider the process by which you make the decisions in your life.
You may have heard about folks who started coming to church, praying and seeking God’s face when they had the need to choose a life partner. Somehow, we have come to believe some decisions are more important than others. So the choice of who to marry is more important than what we choose to wear. The choice of a career path is more important than the choice of which bus we board. Maybe we are right to think so.

Some decisions obviously have greater impact on our lives but if you think deeply about those little decisions, you will find that they have tremendous cumulative effect on our lives too.

I love soft drinks. Recently, a colleague at my office advised me to have water for lunch instead of a bottle of coke. I agreed to try it for a week and it is amazing to realize that such little change reflected in my finances. I saved more and had more money to do some other important things.

Do you know that you may not get a job simply because of the kind of dress you chose to wear? Do you know people have been kidnapped via the bus they chose to board? My point is these seemingly little decisions count, A LOT.

Scripture says that children of God are led by His Spirit. How often do we limit this leading to just the big decisions. We are called to live in and keep in step with the Spirit. I love how the The Message puts Galatians 5:25‭ and I will close with this: “Since this is the kind of life we have chosen, the life of the Spirit, let us make sure that we do not just hold it as an idea in our heads or a sentiment in our hearts, but work out its implications in EVERY DETAIL of our lives.”

Have you had any experience that made you realize that your little decisions count? What principles guide your everyday choices? Please join the conversation. Leave a comment.

I call you blessed!

12 thoughts on “​Little Decisions”

  1. Thank you Ifeoluwa. I have found asking the Holy spirit for guidance really helpful in my choice making, since every decision has a consequence no matter how trivial it may be. Although we know that nothing happens to us by accident yet we must ensure that choices do not hinder what God is doing in and through us. My decision to postpone meeting with a mentee might affect him/her greatly in a way I didn’t expect. May God help us to be careful in all we do!

    Like

  2. This piece got me saying hmmm! Of a truth, we need to intentionally allow the Holy Spirit take the lead in every detail of our lives. God bless you Sir. Thank you for this timely reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! We need to get intentionally allow the Holy Spirit take the lead in every detail of our lives.

      I am glad the post blessed you. God be praised always.

      Thanks for reading and commenting to me. It means a lot to me.

      Like

  3. Thanks. I have observed that those little decisions often have great impact in our lives….and their accumulation is what usually determines what the big ones will be. The Holy Spirit is always there to go beyond the limitations of the human brain and It is the most precious gift that demonstrate the greatness of God’s love for His children.

    Like

    1. I agree absolutely. The Holy Spirit is our greatest ally in living fully. What can we do without Him that will matter in eternity?

      Thank you for comment Kunle. God bless you.

      Like

  4. Have really been blessed with the write up.
    The decision we take at any point in life determines how far we go. let’s summit ourselves to the leading of the Holy Spirit in taking decision, God is fully committed to us but I question myself always that am I committed in return. Failure to commit our decision and choices to God will deprive us of a lot of things in which God has in stock for us. And please let’s be obedient even as the Holy Spirit instruct us. God bless!

    Like

    1. True Adewale. Obedience is key to sustaining our intentionality in purposeful living. God is helping us.

      Thank you for reading and joining the conversation. It means a lot to me. God bless you.

      Like

  5. That’s powerful, God bless you bro.
    The decision we take at any point in life determines how far we go. let’s summit ourselves to the leading of the Holy Spirit in taking decision, God is fully committed to us but I question myself always that am I committed in return. Failure to commit our decision and choices to God will deprive us of a lot of things in which God has in stock for us. And please let’s be obedient even as the Holy Spirit instruct us. God bless!

    Like

  6. God bless you for this bro.
    A very recent little decision I made, with the leading of the Holy Spirit, was ministering the Gospel to a brother in one of the male halls of residence in UI. At first, I wanted to shrug off the voice asking me to go towards the direction of the room but then I obliged.
    Not knowing the Lord was sending me to a brother who’s always been ‘shy’ whenever any altar call for salvation is made. And as a matter of fact, that has always robbed him of the privilege of being saved.
    I’m therefore glad to say this that that day, in his room, he confessed Christ as his personal Lord and Saviour.
    Sincerely little decisions help more in saving souls from the terror of the coming judgment.
    Thank you.

    Like

    1. Wow!

      Thank God for the grace to obey. When we act according to the leading of the Holy Spirit, we always move in the direction of eternal relevance.

      Thank you for your comment. God bless you sir.

      Like

Leave a Reply

