Guest Posts

Kehinde Olopade: A New Generation of God’s Generals

image

I can hardly remember the early days of my academic pursuit, but I remember that I always wanted to be among the best. Right from my secondary school days, I had made up my mind to be a medical doctor and I was ready to do all I could to make that dream come true.

In contrast to what I had purposed to be, I had great interest in electronics which eventually led me to join the JETS club (Junior Engineers, Technicians & Scientists Club) in my secondary school. I was ambitious. I just wanted to be anything worth being, I wanted to do something meaningful with my life.

Along the line, in adherence to the advice of some senior friends on what was thought to be a potential I had, I decided to pursue a career in Electrical Engineering and as always, I was determined to be one of the best in this field. This desire was borne out of my contact with Ben Carson’s best selling books Gifted Hands and Think Big. Those books shaped my vision about the pursuit of excellence.

At the completion of secondary school, my attempt to gain admission into a tertiary institution that year failed. So I had to wait, although this period was painful. I felt I had failed myself and those who looked up to me then as a role model. It turned out to be the most important time in my life.

It was then I discovered purpose. I uncovered the reason for which I am on this planet. I got a clear picture of what I was meant to do with my life. I had developed interest in the military at the eleventh hour of my Secondary School Education. But during this time of delay, I discovered something new about the military. You can say it was a “divine discovery.” I found that God created me to make a difference and to tread where most would not- to fulfill purpose by serving my fatherland.

Not that I am the best prepared  for this assignment, but God’s grace has been my power house . I eventually joined the Military and I am determined to stand as a soldier for Christ. I am determined to be one who can leverage on the platform of his profession to be a messenger of peace to the troubled and war-torned, of love and freedom to the oppressed and to defend a way of life which all men deserve- freedom.

Irrespective of past failures and shortcomings, I know I cannot afford to fail God, the task ahead is far beyond the rifle, the ammunition, the drill and the know how. Few years gone and still counting with the mission intact I make bold to say there have been no regrets whatsoever.

With so much confidence in His power and His sustaining grace, I have come to discover that I am not alone on this mission. God is raising up and preparing for Himself, Godly Generals both in and outside the military, men whose shield is the Lord and His name, their stronghold.

This is my life message: The time is here when men and women of the forces can boldly declare like David, “God trains my hand for war!”

……………………….
Kehinde is a third termer currently studying Naval Science at Escola Naval, Brazil. He loves God and enjoys jogging and watching military movies. Contact him via: olopadek@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

