PurposeDiscovery

What is Your Life Message? (The Prologue)

image

I once read about a cheerful old man who asked just about every new acquaintance he fell into conversation with one question. He would not ask conventional questions like “What do you do for a living?” Instead he asked a very unsettling question: “What have you done that you believe in and you are proud of?”

Some of the responses that gave him the greatest delight were those of a woman who answered, “I’m doing a good job raising three children;” and a cabinetmaker who said, “I believe in good workmanship and practice it;” and another woman who said, “I started a bookstore and it’s the best bookstore for miles around. I deliver knowledge to the hand of those who seek it.”

“I don’t really care how they answer,” said the old man. “I just want to put the thought into their minds. They should live their lives in such a way that they can have a good answer. Not a good answer for me, but for themselves and their Maker. That’s what is important.”

What would your answer be if you were asked this question? What would you say has been the preoccupation of your life that makes your Maker proud and brings you the deepest happiness and fulfilment? What is one reason why you should be spared to see tomorrow? Do you know why you are here and where your life should be headed?

I believe life is best lived according to its purpose. I believe God planned each of us to live for a specific purpose that gives Him pleasure, blesses humanity and gives us fulfilment. I also believe that He has loaded us with potentials to fulfill this purpose. There is the beauty of God in every man. The discovery and pursuit of His Purpose unveils it.

This is my life message and what this blog has been about- helping people find why they are here and maximise their potentials in the pursuit of that purpose. Purpose gives you a unique message the delivery of which leverages on your gifts, reflects your unique experiences and gives you a voice in a noisy world.

For the next few weeks I will be hosting some very amazing folks in the second edition of the “What is Your Life Message?” series.  These people will be sharing their stories like I have shared mine. I am certain you will be inspired by their perspectives. Above all, I pray you will be spurred to find and pursue God’s purpose for your life like they have.

You matter to me!

Leave a Reply

