PurposePursuit

Grateful for the Little Things.

image
Grateful! Photo credits: DayronV via pixabay

Last weekend, I added a year to my life. My boss was out of the country so I took the day off with her kind permission. For me, it was a time to reflect on God’s goodness and be grateful for the wonderful things he has done in my life and the people around me.  I had a lot to be thankful for: my family, friends, studies, ministry and everything. I took some time to examine my life goals, see how far I had come and be thankful for that.

But as I thought about these things, I realized how easy it was to frantically search for the big things for which we can be grateful. I saw how easy it is to be negative when we cannot find those big things especially when we fall into the trap of comparing our pursuits with others’. Perhaps, it is a mark of our humanity to be ungrateful for such little things as the air we breathe and the beautiful colors of the rainbow.

Yesterday, I was to provide sputum specimens for one of the tests we have to do in preparation for resumption at the law school. It’s hard to believe but I could not bring myself to produce sputum for the test. For more than three hours, I coughed and stressed my throat looking for a liquid substance I would on a normal day, dispose off casually. I realized that most of the time, we become grateful for many things when we are direly in need of their availability but for some reason we are confronted with their scarcity.

We are more grateful for oxygen when for some reason we have to depend on a machine to breathe. We are more grateful for the life of a loved one only when the cold hands of death snatches them.

This week, I want to encourage you to look out for the little things that really matter to your pursuit of purpose and be truly grateful for them. Let’s be grateful for life, love, faith, hope and purpose . Let’s be grateful for time, people, air, water and the challenges we face that make us stronger on our journey. Let’s be grateful for the grace to be grateful, for gratitude is the spice of life.

Leave a Reply

