Guest Posts

ADEYEMI ADEBIMPE: COVERED BY GRACE.

image
Covered by Grace!

Just like the Apostle Paul, I am the least of all the people that should share their experience with you. The only qualifying factor indeed, is GRACE.

I grew up in a relatively aback lineage. I never woke up on the side of riches and wealth of this world. I never had the privilege of feeding from a golden plate nor drink from a royal goblet neither did I have the luxury of cruising the city in chariots and with pride. My beginning was humble, yet there has been a grease that brought ease in every difficulty life brings. It is the working of an unmerited grace.

Going to school was not totally excellent. I was not an outspoken type; so reclusive and reserve. I was not open to any information or benefits. No scholarship. No awards. But there was an unexplainable ability to do beyond average. I was never accorded with bad performance, in fact, my result always read, “Excellent Result. Proceed to the next class”. I never stayed longer than necessary in a class. I’ve had to wonder how I made it, but I can only boast in Christ, who gives me the excelling grace.

My life-pursuit has not been without crossroads. At such points, I have enjoyed a leading grace. I recall how I was denied membership into the Science class after my Junior Secondary School Examination and I had to sit in the dust in the Arts class against my wish. I remember also, the events that led to my admission into Nigeria’s premier University to study English after I had waited at home for five years. The good news of my admission came on a Friday and it left me speechless. By the benefit of hindsight, I see now that Grace has taught me perseverance and tenacity.

Grace has taught me to see and call things differently from how the world refers to them. Grace is working on me to love and cherish every moment and every man.

I have prayed severally to walk without hitting a stone, and God has responded that “I will carry you!” I have asked Him to give me a teacher and he has said, “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go, I will counsel you and watch over you.” What more need I say? It’s GRACE!

I have learnt to approach life from the view of grace- God in the RACE. Not that I have attained it, but I still strive towards the mark until Grace leads me home.

The hymn AMAZING GRACE by John Newton (1725-1807) presents the summary of my life. Every line of the hymn speaks the story of what I was, what I became and what I will become.

At the moment, I may not display fully the full measures of grace, but I know that one day, the whole world will read of a General made by Grace! For by Grace I hope in Christ!


Adebimpe Adeyemi is a graduate of English from the University of Ibadan. His interest is located in purpose-coordinated life and Godly oriented leadership. He coordinates The Leading Minds Conglomerate- a team of intellectuals challenging the future. He reads, thinks, writes, and speaks and believes he’s an epitome of grace.

©2014, Alabi AimPurpose IfeOluwa
All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “ADEYEMI ADEBIMPE: COVERED BY GRACE.”

  1. An interesting view of grace: God in the RACE. After reading your story and reflecting over my life, I would personalize it: God in my RACE. Thanks for sharing. The world is waiting for the general made by grace!

    Like

Leave a Reply

