PurposePursuit

THE RED EMBER IN THE WHITE ASH

image
Photo by SRMNYK via flickr

Passion is the energy for purpose. It is the fuel by which your pursuit runs. You cannot achieve much in the pursuit of your Purpose without a passion that beats all pressures and opposition. Ralph Waldo Emerson once said: “Nothing great is ever accomplished in life without enthusiasm.” You must have passion to see something great happen.

The Scriptures tell the story of one man who lived a hard life but who demonstrated a great passion for His life assignment. Passion never retires. At 85, Caleb’s passion and strength was the same as it was 40 years before. This isn’t fiction. It is the Bible.

10 “Now then, just as the Lord promised, he has kept me alive for forty-five years since the time he said this to Moses, while Israel moved about in the desert. So here I am today, eighty-five years old!
11 I am still as strong today as the day Moses sent me out; I’m just as vigorous to go out to battle now as I was then.
Josh 14:10-12 NIV

I believe the secret to Caleb’s passion and enthusiasm was the fact that he held on to God’s promises trusting all the way and never shrinking back. Myles Munroe wrote:

“Passion is motivated by a vision, birthed from a conviction and produced by a sense of purpose.”

You’re never going to make it to the finish line without passion and enthusiasm for your purpose.

It is very easy to lose your passion. This is perhaps because a lot of time, our passion depends on how we feel. Of course, the fact is that our feelings are swift to change.

There are times in our pursuits of purpose when we feel like a punctured balloon, completely deflated. We feel empty and we just cannot find the drive to go further. I have had such times. I think every pursuer of purpose would have, no matter how short a time it is.

What should we do when we feel robbed of life? What do we do to reignite our passion for the things that really matter to our existence? In this piece, I want to share with you what has kept me going despite the distractions. I want to share with you how I keep my passion alive to do what I do.

I believe the first secret to keeping your passion alive is in the meaning of the word enthusiasm itself. Since I made this discovery, I have enjoyed God’s rekindling power for my passion. The word enthusiasm comes from two Greek words; en which means in and Theos which means God. Thus, to be enthusiastic means to be in God!
Because purpose is all about God, He is our ultimate source of passion. Have you ever read from the scriptures when it is said that the zeal of the Lord will accomplish a particular plan of His? I believe that is the unstoppable passion of God to achieve His purposes. When we lose our passion for His purpose for our lives, we should get in Him again. Take a retreat. Study again the Word He gave you as the anchor for your pursuit of purpose. Spend some time in worship and you’ll see God stir you up by His divine energy.

Rick Warren wrote:

“Positive thinking is not enough. Pulling yourself up by your psychological bootstraps is not enough. Talking yourself into optimism is not enough… you need to get in God to stay enthusiastic.”

Passion is contagious. You can rekindle your passion by spending some time with people you have found to always be enthusiastic.  Surround yourself with people who inspire you and spur you on to success. If you have seen movies like Coach Carter, you’ll see how inspiration can reawaken passion already murdered by defeat.

Are you feeling exhausted? Are problems of pressure and distractions bugging you down? Do you need a fresh burst of resiliency? Does your pursuit look like nothing but a burned-out ash? There is yet a red ember and if you’ll get in God again and connect with people He has helped to remain passionate, your fireplace can glow again with a radiant fire!
(Please feel free to share how you keep your passion alive by leaving a comment. I want to hear from you!)

………………………………………………..
The title of this piece was got from bestselling author and pastor, Lloyd John Oglive’s book, The Red Ember in the White Ash, 2006, published by Harvest House Publishers.

©2014, Alabi AimPurpose IfeOluwa
All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “THE RED EMBER IN THE WHITE ASH”

  1. Timely Piece! It is not an overstatement to say that we all have moment we feel “high/low”. We must recognize that either ways, God is passionate in helping us. Personally, I try to consider what could have been the cause for the “deflation”. If it’s a breach of contract from my own part, I will make amendment as necessary. Sometimes, it could be due to a slack in personal altar, I will as well see to that. Above all, I do hold tenaciously to God’s Word… in every high and stormy gale, my anchor hold within the veil…

    Like

Leave a Reply

