JustPurpose

WHEN GOD RAN…

image
Photo by Martin Young via flickr

Sometimes ago, I started a column called SPIRILYRICS on the platform of the Editorial Team of my fellowship on campus. I shared, weekly, the lyrics of songs that blessed me; made some comments on those lyrics and sought to provide the correct lyrics of the popular songs that people often sang wrongly. I had to suspend the column when I got very busy with some other stuffs.

This week, I want to do something similar to SPIRILYRICS. I want to share the lyrics of the very first song I featured on that platform which, by the arrangement of grace, I came across again this week after a very long search. The song is by Philip, Craig and Dean. I would not provide details of the artistes since my goal is just to share the lyrics of this very powerful piece with you. But you can see more about the trio here.

The song is basically a presentation of the story of the prodigal son with emphasis on the response of the Father to the return of His lost son. Enjoy!

When God Ran”

[Verse 1:]
Almighty God, The Great I Am,
Immovable Rock, Omnipotent, Powerful,
Awesome Lord.
Victorious Warrior, Commanding King of Kings,
Mighty Conqueror and the only time,
The only time I ever saw him run,
Was when…
[Chorus:]
He ran to me,
He took me in His arms,
Held my head to His chest,
Said “My son’s come home again!”
Lifted my face,
Wiped the tears from my eyes,
With forgiveness in His voice He said
“Son, do you know I still love You?”
He caught me by surprise, When God ran…

[Verse 2:]
The day I left home,
I knew I’d broken His heart.
And I wondered then, if things could ever be the same.
Then one night,
I remembered His love for me.
And down that dusty road, ahead I could see,
It was the only time,
It was the only time I ever saw Him run.
And then…
[Repeat Chorus]
He caught me by surprise.
And He brought me to my knees.
When God ran… I saw Him run to me.

[Bridge:]
I was so ashamed, all alone, and so far away.
But now I know, that He’s been waiting for this day…
I saw Him run to me,
He took me in His arms,
Held my head to his chest,
Said “My son’s come home again!”
Lifted my face,
Wiped the tears from my eyes,
With forgiveness in His voice
I felt his love for me again.
He ran to me,
He took me in His arms,
Held my head to his chest,
Said “My son’s come home again!”
Lifted my face,
Wiped the tears from my eyes,
With forgiveness in His voice
He said “Son”
He called me Son.
He said “Son, do you know I still love You?”
He ran to me (When God Ran)
(I saw Him run to me)
And then I ran to Him
(When God ran)
When God ran…

The only time God ran was when He ran in the nick of time to lead you by a straight way to a city where you could settle and be all that you were meant to be. God did not run just so that the prodigal son or daughter, as you were could come back home for the fun of it. Even your salvation is so that you can be free and empowered with the dominion to live fully to die empty as you discover your assignment and maximize your potentials.
God ran and with arm opened wide, he gave you a fresh start. Should you not know why?

Have you embraced the opened arms of your Creator?
You are lost without Him and if you die without accepting his offer of salvation, you would have robbed us all of the beauty of God, locked away in the depth of your being, waiting for the touch of your Creator to be unleashed.

Verily, verily, I say unto you, the only time I saw God ran was when He ran so that you may live fully to die empty!
…………
Lyrics from azlyrics.com

©2014, Alabi AimPurpose IfeOluwa
All rights reserved.

6 thoughts on “WHEN GOD RAN…”

  1. Whaow!! What a wonderful imagery created on the sheets of human mind. It reveals the love of the father rather than the heat of hell… Praise God!

    Like

Leave a Reply

