JustPurpose

What is Your Life Message?

Billy Joe Daugherty shares in his book, 360 Life, the story of a young lady whose story describes the danger and effects of purposelessness. Below is an excerpt of Jamie’s story. 

“I was born into a very dysfunctional home filled with alcohol and abuse. Darkness is the only word that describes it.
By age 12, I started coping with the abuse by drinking hard liquor, smoking marijuana and cigarettes, and by stealing compulsively for the thrill.
Despite my emotional pain over the abuse and abandonment, I couldn’t cry. When I felt as I wanted to cry, I’d cut instead. In those years, I always referred to the blood as “my tears.”
With all the addictions, I worked four jobs just to pay for it all. I would take a lot of pills so that I could face people at work. I didn’t want to be around anybody. Finally, an oral infection due to bulima took me within three days of death.
I just cried out to God, You made my life miserable! Obviously you want to me to die miserably to teach families to love their children.

I did everything that I could to kill myself that week. In desperation, I searched on the Internet for ways I could commit suicide…
My thoughts were desperate as I pleaded with God to let me die: God why am I here? Can you please just let me die? I have tried this so many times- I just want to leave this place. There’s nothing good left for me. And I’m hurting every day. Just let me leave this world.
The Lord was so gentle that His love changed my life. He told me ‘Jamie, you don’t know the plans I have for you…’

After that experience with God, light was introduced into the darkness of Jamie’s life. God showed her that she was on earth for a reason and until she fulfilled that purpose, death was not an option. Now, Jamie is an instrument in God hands, helping and encouraging others to see that God does not intend anyone’s life to be a waste.

image

I believe that suicide is the highest level of purposelessness anyone can experience. That is perhaps why anyone who commits suicide would leave a note saying he or she had no other reason to live! What a tragedy.

The World Health Organization estimates that approximately, one person dies by suicide every 40 seconds somewhere in the world and 1.8% of the world’s deaths are suicides! Youth suicide is also said to be increasing at the greatest rate as suicide is now the third leading cause of death for young people between 15-24 years. Take some time to think about this. How many people have committed suicide within the length of time it has taken you to read this piece thus far?

This is tragic and it breaks God’s heart that so many people continue to live their lives committing suicide slowly as they live as though there is no reason for their existence.

You are not an accident. God would not have created you if there was not a need that required your conception. Your birth was not the birth of just another human. See what your creator says about you:

“I knew you before you were formed within your mother’s womb; before you were born I sanctified you and appointed you as my spokesman to the world.”

Is that not amazing? Your parents may not have planned your birth but God definitely did. There may be illegitimate parents; there are never illegitimate children.

Life is more than just going to school, getting a job, getting married, having children, building a house, buying a car and of course, dying. Life (as God intended) is about a making a difference. Life is about discovering the divine purpose for which you were born in this exact moment of history right in the exact place you call home today.
How can you discover your purpose? Discover God and discover yourself. Discover God by accepting His invitation to a relationship with Him through Jesus, the Christ. Discover yourself by understanding your potentials. If God has made you who you are and capable of doing certain things, your identity and potentials definitely have relevance to why He created you.

Life does not make much sense without an understanding of the purpose of your existence. He who has not discovered purpose is not living. He is just surviving. The difference between him and he that has committed suicide is the opportunity to yet discover Purpose.

This is my life message. Preaching Purpose is why I am on earth. God has made you to be his spokesperson. Your purpose gives you a message for the world! What is your life message?

image

For the next few weeks, I would be featuring friends who have found their purposes and who believe they have a message. I trust that you will be inspired by them and you will be stirred to live fully to die empty!

Photo Credits: http://www.dreamstime.com

©2014, Alabi AimPurpose IfeOluwa
All rights reserved.

11 thoughts on “What is Your Life Message?”

  1. I hope you will realize that to die by suicide is not to “commit” as if a crime but rather, to die from a disease called mental illness which can be fatal. My son was born into a middle class family who loves/ed him dearly, as many of those who have mental illness. He died from that disease. Because a person died by suicide (a result of undiagnosed or diagnosed mental illness) does not mean they came from a bad situation. It only means they have malfunctions in the brain, chemical imbalance, etc…and could not cope with their illness. Sadly, mental illness affects behavior and decision making. My son was not gay, drug addicted, abused, PTSD, or any of the things that people often associate with suicide. These kinds of troubles are often the catalyst that puts a mentally ill person over the edge. It most definitely does not mean this person has a flawed faith or is not a Christian.(some are some aren’t) My son was a Christian who accepted Christ as his Savior at 7 yrs.old. He wrote in his prayer journal as a young man of his love for God. He shared with me his deepest thoughts about his faith. He prayed prayers in his journal that haunt me to this day as to why God allowed him to die this way. Perhaps, his death will be his purpose….in his mother’s efforts to explore, research, and know as best as I can…the reasons behind this disease.
    I hope that when you consider writing about this topic that you will have mercy on those who are condemned by the church which does not understand mental illness. The brain can become ill just like your kidneys, your heart, your anything. It is not rational for anyone to take their own life. I don’t think that those who die by suicide think like those of us who are well. They are hurting and in much despair. I got a glimpse of just how much because of my son’s death.
    When remembering those who die in Christ….you must remember: John 3:16. The word “perish” means death of the soul. not of the body. We all die. My son was met in Heaven by Jesus Christ his Savior. He was not condemned for being ill. I hope you will visit my site to gain more insight into this subject. We, who are left behind after a loved one dies this way, are in very much pain and grief. It would help if if the world and better yet, the Christians, would try to understand the cause of suicide and not judge the brethren.
    I applaud your attempts to save others who are contemplating suicide. I am glad that you have been given insight to your God-given purpose. I am 60 yrs old and have yet to know exactly what my purpose is. It has changed over the years. I would most certainly think your purpose will, also. I hope you never have to know personally, the terrible pain that comes with the loss of a child to suicide. It is a pain unlike any other. If you can write about what you know to be true as any good writer does…then your words will have weight and purpose. If you write about those things that you just think you know about…therein lies the problem for many aspiring writers. I know all too well what I am writing about on my blog: lensgirl53.wordpress.com, “In the Wake of Suicide….trying to understand.”
    While Jamie’s story has a happy ending. I think that my son’s had a happy ending, as well. He is at peace with the Lord and no longer wrestling with the pain of the disease that took his life. I will see him again one day and know that it is well with our souls.
    I wish you well as you continue to honor God with your pursuit to help others.

    Like

  2. Wow! Thanks very much for your comment above. I am aware that some cases of suicide are not as a result of the victim’s lack of an understanding of his purpose. I am sorry I did not particularly indicate that in the post. This article in no way condemns any case that falls in that category. The object of the piece is that of intentional decision to commit suicide.
    I am sorry for your loss and I am certain that your experience has been and will continue to be a source of encouragement for those who may be going through same.
    Thanks again for your comment and for your good wishes too.

    Like

  3. Great Piece! As long as we are alive, we must strive to Discover our Purpose and Fulfil it. There could be Living Dead!
    However, In our Pursuit of Purpose, we must be Concious of the fact that God is Committed to helping us. In fact, He is more concerned than we do. We should never think we are in this journey alone. Let’s bank on His word that says He won’t leave us nor forsake us (Hebrew 13:5). Likewise, we must follow as He Leads. See you at the Top.

    Like

  4. Wonderful work! This is the kind of info that are meant to be shared across the internet. Disgrace on the search engines for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and consult with my website . Thank you dgdagdcgccce

    Like

  5. While there’s some merit to a couple of the things here, I disagree with you on so many points. I think we don’t realise how deep mental disorders can affect human beings. The desire to live is a strong one and while I know some people take their life for supposedly flimsy reasons, we should note that to reach that nadir such people must have either experienced something grave or must have had their spirits broken greatly.

    There are folks who know their purpose but still get broken so much they believe the only way out of their misery is death. It’s a really terrible state and I think we should be more sensitive to people going through such experiences. I also think you should read up about the experience of the Warrens to get a feel of what I’m pointing at.

    Like

  6. I have read about the experience of the Warrens and like I noted in my reply to lensgirl53’s comment above, this piece excludes cases of mental disorder leading to suicide. While I agree that life experiences can be hard on us, I think we can find comfort in the fact that God’s purposes for our lives are sure and eternal plus the fact we can trust God to fulfill His Purpose for us. I do hope you and I will find strength in God and His word in the difficult times. Thanks for your comment and congrats on your new marriage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

