JustPurpose

Delivering Impact II

 

Image

It was never my intention to make a series out of the issue of Delivering Impact in the pursuit of your purpose. But I believe that the message I intend to pass across in this piece should be taken to be a continuation of the matter raised in my previous post. So, if you have not read that post I beg you to do here.

We have seen the importance of how you deliver the message of your Purpose. We have seen the issues of confidence and grace and how they can be cultivated. In this piece we would consider the attitude that should accompany the delivery of your message to the world. What would separate leaders from followers usually is not in the position they occupy but in their thinking. Your attitude goes a long way in determining how much influence your pursuit if purpose would have on the world. You must be committed therefore, to cultivating the right attitudes for your pursuit. I would be sharing two attitudinal issues in this piece. The two issues I want to raise are those of having a sense of obligation and being convinced of the potency of your message.

A SENSE OF OBLIGATION.

For I owe a great debt to you and to everyone else… Rom 1:14 TLB

You cannot make much impact on your generation through your pursuit of purpose until you become so passionate about your message that you feel a sense of obligation to serve your potentials to the world. Paul wrote to the Romans expressing his sense of obligation and stated that he owed a great debt to them. This is passion. Such attitude comes as a product of a remarkable self-worth that makes you feel needed and in fact, important. It is not a sense of indispensability but a sense of passion that drives you to want to serve your potentials to the world. During one of her church’s special webcast, Kay Warren shared how she has not been the same since she read that 12 million children were orphaned in Africa due to AIDS. At first she was paralyzed by the figure, but became mobilized when she realized that one day she will have to face God and give an answer as to what she did after learning about the pandemic. “I just knew that Kay Warren, Christian, had to say yes to God,” said Warren, who is now the executive director of the HIV/AIDS Initiative at Saddleback Church in Southern California. “From there I began to learn and study. God just broke my heart. He just wiped me out. There is not a day that goes by that I don’t cry over what I’ve learned and what I’ve seen,” she said.

Your heart must be burdened and the cry of your heart must then be, “Lord, what can I do for I am ready. My heart is burdened for the people of my generation for I owe them my potentials. I must die empty.”

THE POWER OF YOUR CONVICTION

I have complete confidence in the gospel… Rom 1:16 TEV

Paul explains further the fact that he has great confidence in the message that God had given him to preach. He was sure of the potency of the gospel. Your purpose is the solution to a problem. You have to be confident that you are the solution to the problem you were meant to solve. It is your confidence that will pull you through any opposition.  Your own personal experience, if any, will come in handy in establishing the potency of your message. We find Paul saying in several parts of his letters that if God could save him, then he could save anyone. That is conviction from personal experiences. 

The story is told of how Scottish philosopher and religious skeptic David Hume was seen hurrying to listen to evangelist George Whitefield speak. Hume was asked if he believed what the evangelist preached. “Certainly not!” Hume replied, “But Whitefield does, and I want to hear a man who does”.  You cannot fake conviction. You should ask yourself the following questions, your conviction is true only if you can answer ‘Yes’ to them:

  • Do I believe what I say?
  • Has it changed me?
  • Do I believe it will help others?
  • Have I seen it change others? 

<

p>There is only a shot of you that the world can get. If you don’t deliver there would not be another you. If you are pregnant with Purpose, that pregnancy must not be aborted. You must deliver impact!

Leave a Reply

