JustPurpose

My New Nokia Curve 3

ImageSometimes ago, I had a chat with a lady I had met earlier. She asked about the type of mobile phone I was using and I said “Curve 3”. She then asked for my BBM pin and I said I didn’t have. She asked why, I said because I didn’t use a Blackberry phone. I used a Nokia C3 (that’s where I got Curve 3). She took offense and we’ve not talked again since then! She probably felt I was playing on her intelligence and sincerely, I was sorry.

For some time now, I have been desiring a new phone. My basic reason being that I get to do a lot of chatting these days (thanks to ASUU) and if you use a Java phone like mine, and chat as much as I do, you could have experienced my frustration when you are on an application and need to use another but have to close the first one. Besides, the popularity and inexpensiveness of [TECNO] Android phones, makes wanting an Android phone really harmless.

I got some money recently but not enough to purchase my desired phone. I consoled myself with expectation of more money soon enough. But then, an idea of re-branding my current phone just made sense to me. So I decided to do a little “tooshing up” of my old device for a little sum and guess what? I spent less than I had budgeted and got more than I expected! My re-branding gave me a “new” Nokia Curve 3. I realized that it really does not cost much to be happy. Just like Marcus Aurelius Antoninus is quoted to have said, Very little is needed to make a happy life, it is all within yourself, in the way of thinking”.  I still desire a new phone, but I learnt to be contented with my “new” one.

The Problem

One of the very basic lessons about life from Secondary School Economics is the fact that human wants are unlimited. I believe however, that though our wants are limitless, our needs are actually not much. The things that we actually need to survive are not as much as the things we tend to place our survival on. Mistaking a want for a need is the problem behind many pursuits of luxury today. A friend saw my “list of needs” and could not understand why I claimed to need a new shoe when I still have one. Having a shoe, in her opinion was only a want not a need. I agree with her now. Here is the problem, as humans we have the very tendency of mistaking our wants for needs and placing our lives on a pursuit of things that are actually supposed to be bonuses!

The Principle

We can’t have all our wants. God does not promise to provide all we want. He does promise to provide all our needs. The key to happiness in life is contentment and trust. If we try to get all we want, the end result is always frustration. Happiness (in actual fact, JOY) lies in being grateful for what we have and not in complaining for what we lack.

The Practice

It is necessary that we re-examine our priorities. Why worry your head over an issue that is only a ‘want’. Why let Satan make jest of you as you neglect the needful and worry about the things that are not compulsory (some are not even necessary) for your pursuit of purpose? Learn to trust God. Instead of running after things that are only life’s bonuses, why not entrust your life in His hands, you’ll not lack anything you need. Even if that is a re-branded Nokia Curve 3.

Beware! Don’t always be wishing for what you don’t have. For real life and real living are not related to how rich we are.”  Luke 12:15, TLB

A devout life does bring wealth, but it’s the rich simplicity of being yourself before God.  Since we entered the world penniless and will leave it penniless, if we have bread on the table and shoes on our feet, that’s enough. 1 Tim 6:6-8 THE MESSAGE

A thick bankroll is no help when life falls apart, but a principled life can stand up to the worst. Prov. 11:4 THE MESSAGE

Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met. Matt 6:33 THE MESSAGE

8 thoughts on “My New Nokia Curve 3”

  1. you can make the life you want by what you have&all one needs to be happy is on the inside,only find it out!
    more of his grace bro

    Like

  2. This then is the paradox: “I still desire a new phone, but I learnt to be contented with my “new” one.” If more people mastered this, half of the crimes in our world would be eliminated. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

